About The Book

In her new book, Transforming Power: From the Personal to the Political, veteran activist Judy Rebick explains how globalization and mass communication technology are revolutionizing our understanding of power and producing profound new ideas about social and political life. Whether it’s the election of President Obama, the rise of democracy in Bolivia, or the success of Wikipedia, it’s the process that’s key: bringing communities of people together to produce something new; building a movement from the bottom up; sharing experience, knowledge and wisdom; emphasizing co-operation and consensus over confrontation and political partisanship.

Meaningful response to the environmental crisis and social injustice requires substantial, sustainable change at every level, which can only come through building power from the grass roots, from the people most impacted. In Transforming Power we discover the ideas, the people and the practices that can provide the paths to the change we need.
/p>
About Judy

Judy Rebick is a well-known social justice activist, educator , writer, and speaker. She currently holds the Sam Gindin Chair in Social Justice and Democracy at Ryerson University.

Judy is founder of rabble.ca, Canada’s most popular independent online news and discussion site and the author of several books and articles, most recently Ten Thousand Roses: The Making of a Feminist Revolution (Penguin 2005).  Her other books are Imagine Democracy (Stoddard 2000) and Politically Speaking (Douglas & McIntyre 1996).  Her new book Transforming Power: From the Personal to the Political is coming out in early March.  

During the 1990’s, Judy was the host of two national TV shows on CBC Newsworld and a frequent commentator on CBC radio and television. She also contributes commentaries to a host of newspapers and magazines.   Judy is perhaps best known to Canadians as a former president of the National Action Committee on the Status of Women, Canada’s largest women’s group. In the 1980’s she was active in the pro-choice movement and in coalitions to win employment equity federally and in the province of Ontario.
 
About the Website
The Transforming Power website is meant to be a continuous epilogue for the book. For readers of Transforming Power who wish to dig deeper into the book’s content they will find here the tools and information necessary to begin the work that Judy urges throughout her book; work that has already begun across the globe.
We encourage all visitors to the site to read and respond to Judy’s blog, and even post their own entries about where they see power being transformed in their very own community.
One of the most important things that one can do to transform power is to become organized and connected with others who share similar goals. In order to facilitate this, we have provided a forum for visitors to the site to explain the work they are doing in their community and to help aid in the networking that Judy discusses throughout the book.
Was there a particular interview or event in the book that you are hoping to delve further into? Look not further than the Transforming Power “Multimedia” page. Here you will find podcasts and videos of some of the many interviews that are seen throughout the book. Additionally, you will find Judy’s personal videos and photos from her experiences throughout South America and at previous World Social Forums.